Google+ Mommy Moments with Abby: #TimeWithRod Review

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#TimeWithRod Review

Gotta love Rod Stewart!  I don't care who you are chances are you've sang along to his song's.  How great is it that he is coming out with a new CD!  I'm totally excited!
Mommy Moments with Abby's review of Rod Stewarts latest album Time.  He will forever be a timeless musician that any generation can enjoy with relate-able lyrics and sounds pleasant to the ear.  Rod Stewart has spent four decades being a rock star and three being a parent. Both his consistency in music and the personal changes that one goes through in being a parent is greatly felt in this CD.  Time is his first album of new material in almost 20 years, can anyone say long over due?!  While I'm not sure what took him so long to finally sit down and create, I'm glad that he finally did as the songs feel inspired!  His sound is still familiar, but his messages feel more weighted from life.  Don't worry he hasn't done any crazy changes after all his hairstyle hasn't seemed changed one bit, just another example of his timelessness!
Time was released May 7th, 2013. It features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced.  Along with the release of Time, Stewart is set to embark on the European leg of his Live the Life tour on June 1st, while American dates with Steve Winwood will kick off October 17th.

The album was an obvious product of Rod reviewing his life for his recent memoir.  How could he not be inspired by a lifetime of emotion, reflection, and the raw naked flaws one has to face when writing a memoir.  I'm very glad he took this change to delve back into writing to share this with us.  "Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head," he says. "Next thing I knew, I had a song called 'It's Over' about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn't done, and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record."

The song he talks about, It's Over, was an interesting song once heard.  I listened to the CD before reading the quote above and the topic of the song was obvious, but not at first.  To be honest at first I thought it was a love song and a beautiful one at that, but in reality it was about divorce and separation   After listening to the song however I realized that it was a love song, about finding that your hearts have drifted apart and despite all the actions done in anger or frustration when the scars heal the love that was once their leaves a fondness pressed into your heart.  The fondness may not be that of the love once shared, but it is like a soft smile on the soul of something great once shared.  I never would have thought of thinking of a failed marriage as a love story before and yet that is what this song created in my mind.  
              The CD was filled with songs that had the cobwebs in the musical portion of my mind stretching!  Such a welcome relief from the bland topics and lyrics that have been out on the radio of late!  Best part of Rod Stewart Songs, singing with them!  Seriously, I don't know what it is about this guys songs, but you can't help but just sing out with them/him! 

You can follow Rod on Twitter!  

Links To Buy Album:
Time Track Listing:
1. She Makes Me Happy
2. Can’t Stop Me Now
3. It’s Over
4. Brighton Beach
5. Beautiful Morning
6. Live The Life
7. Finest Woman
8. Time
9. Picture In A Frame
10. Sexual Religion
11. Make Love To Me Tonight
12. Pure Love


 I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Can't get enough Mommy Moments?

Need more Mommy Moments? Check out my wedding blog! That's right, Mommy Moments is getting married! Twice!

Shopping Job